About Oats Royd Mill Oats Royd Mill sits high above the Calder Valley, with spectacular views of the incredibly beautiful Pennine countryside. Steep hillside fields and large copses of trees are interspersed by traditional dry stone walls and old farmsteads, with the village of Luddenden nestled into the side of the valley not far below. Built as a woollen mill in 1847 for Victorian textiles magnate John Murgatroyd, the Oats Royd Mill was operational until the 1980s but, after its closure, was almost totally destroyed by fire in 1989 . Retaining and rebuilding any original features was a priority throughout the painstaking restoration of the stone structure – its towering chimneystack and millpond are testament to this attention to detail. The oldest surviving building in the nearby picturesque village of Luddenden is the early 17th century Lord Nelson Inn, which, alongside the Parish Church, still plays a central role in this close-knit community. Most of the original houses are simple stone dwellings - built with the same natural elements as the landscape itself - and reminiscent of weaver's cottages, due their rows of square mullioned windows. Each of the self-catering apartments offers luxurious living space, and their location in the breathtaking Luddenden Valley is simply stunning.